the Versatile Blogger Award

So, I’ve been nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award by Sophie over at Sophie’s Corner! Thanks so much Sophie! Go and check out her blog right now! Or at least once you finish reading this post 🙂

Rules for The Versatile Blogger Award:Award

  1. Thank the person who nominated you.
  2. Share 7 facts about yourself.
  3. Nominate 10 other bloggers of your choice.
  4. Link your nominees and let them know of you nomination.

Here are 7 facts about me:

I think a lot about the past. Sometimes I think about how things have changed over time and how people have come and gone from my life; what I was doing 5 years ago and how weird life can be sometimes.

I think a lot about the future. Mostly it’s this feeling of wanting to do things and my future plans. But I try not to rush anything and enjoy what I have right now.

I’m currently studying for my pharmacy licensure exam. This means I might not post or even read books as frequently as I would like, at least until I pass the exam. Fingers crossed!

I have a love/hate relationship with book buying. I buy books, I read them and then if I don’t like them I get annoyed because I spent money on it. Or if I accumulate too many books I worry about space, all that dust from the shelves and having the pain of moving books if I ever move from my apartment. Weird. I am also baffled at a number of books some booktubers buy. It’s not feasible to buy 20-30+ books a month. Eventually, you get to a point where you just accumulate books you’re not going to be able to read. But that’s just my opinion 🙂

I firmly believe in acid-free paper for all books! Or at the very least hardcover books! I just discovered that a rather expensive edition of a book I bought a few years back is not acid-free and I can already see spots in which the paper is yellowing! So sad!

Although I am a pharmacist, if I had to pick another job it would probably be something with a combination of reading and travel!

I currently have 154 books on my TBR and the next book I plan on reading changes almost daily. A good many of those books I’m probably not going to read but I add them to my Goodreads TBR so I can go back to it later on, read the synopsis again and see if it really interests me or not.

So now that I’ve done 7 facts about me I’m going to nominate someone. Since I’ve not been in the blogosphere for very long I’m going to nominate two people whose blogs I’ve found interesting instead of 10. I nominate these awesome blogs:

the Orangutan Librarian

Nicola @ Thoughts on Fantasy

They’ve probably been nominated but oh well! More love for them! 🙂

Also, I’ve decided to open an Instagram account. I’m not the best at it but it’s a neat experiment for me. Follow me @thebooklovingpharmacist.

6 comments

  1. Thanks so much for the nomination! I’ve been nominated before but haven’t posted and passed it on yet. I will get around to it soon though 🙂

    The next book I plan to read changes all the time too. I’ll think I’m certain of one, and then depending on my mood I’ll pick up another. Guess that’s a nice thing though – there’s a bit of mystery/surprise as to which one will be next!

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for the nomination! I definitely think about the past and future a lot. And I also have a love hate relationship with buying books- I have a lot of trouble especially when it comes to space, so then I have to give away books I bought and then I feel bad cos I spent money on them… *sigh*

    Like

  3. Hi!!! I just realized that you did this tag! I like your 7 facts and it is fun to learn more about you. Good luck on your pharmacy licensing exam!
    I feel similarly about buying books. It is amazing to me how many books people have. Books are expensive! I’ve been buying books more than before (since converting back from ebooks to actual books), and they are piling up since I don’t have time to read them. I think I need to limit the amount that I buy 🙂
    I haven’t heard much about acid-free paper! It sounds like a more environmentally friendly alternative… is it hard to find books that are acid-free?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I see people’s bookshelves on Instagram and I think, “There must be at least $1000 on those bookshelves!” Haha but thats just me. I have a small bookshelf for now but in the future my collection might grow.

      As for acid-free paper I’m not really sure how hard to find it is. What’s more difficult I think would be determining if a book is printed on acid-free paper. Usually paperbacks are not because they tend to yellow over time quite easily. I read somewhere that hardcovers do have acid-free paper but I’m not sure how reliable that info is. For sure, my hardcovers have not yellowed or if they have its very minimal. I don’t know, I’m very particular about this because I want my books to look nice over time lol

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes I can imagine those bookshelves would cost a fortune! I don’t even have a shelf right now (just a pile haha), maybe that will change in the future 🙂

        Ah, I see! I do notice that old paperback books tend to have yellow pages but I didn’t know it was the acid – that makes sense though. Glad to have learned something new!

        Like

Leave a comment